Search MPIOC  
MPIOC Annual Awards & Installation
Date: June 8, 2017 Time: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location: Balboa Bay Resort
WEC California and Aloha Chapter Reception
Date: June 19, 2017 Time: 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Location: Double Barrel Roadhouse

Shining Star Awards

2015-2016 Shining Star Recipients

Murielle Ferdinand, AccorHotels (Serves on Monthly Meetings Committee)
Murielle is on the Education Committee and has been an important team member of the Monthly Meetings Committee, including handling on site logistics and management for  a few meetings this year where she stepped up as a pinch hitting "point person" for those meetings.  She has enthusiastically answered the call to step up as a volunteer and continues to make herself available to the Monthly Meetings team to help accomplish the long laundry list of things that have to get done in order to execute a successful MPIOC Monthly Meeting.  

Diana Jameson, Gateway Canyons (Serves on Communications Committee)
Diana approached MPIOC in 2015 about being more involved. She lives and works in Palm Springs and can’t make it to our monthly meetings, but knew that by volunteering she could get the most out of her membership. She started in the Fall of 2015 and has been doing our social media postings on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. She provides great insight on the statistics of these outlets and is always looking for ways to engage our members in new ways. Throughout a job change and the holidays she always made sure content was posted regularly, and the communications team couldn’t do it without her!

Jessica Niblett, AlliedPRA (Serves on Special Events Committee)
Jessica went above and beyond and made a huge impact at the Holiday Masquerade by overseeing the logistics, and coordinating  with the venue and several of our sponsors and vendors. She was highly organized, efficient and very easy to work with. She was a great role model and team player with the holiday committee and thanks to her efforts, we produced a successful event and all had a great time. Jessica is also continuing as a committee member for the Spring Social and may be a good option for mentorship into a permanent board position.

Maureen Sloan (Serves on Membership Committee)
Maureen Sloan has put a lot of effort into the Student Outreach program, contacting local school administrators and putting together multiple student flyers. She also volunteers at the monthly meetings as a greeter to help ensure our student members are welcomed into our community. She exhibits passion for the industry and for MPIOC specifically. She is making a difference and promoting our chapter to the next generation of hospitality professionals.


 MPIOC is fortunate to have members who are very generous with their time and resources.

With the demands of balancing a successful career and busy family life, there is no doubt that being involved with an organization, such as MPI, takes commitment and energy.

There are members in our chapter who stand out by going above and beyond the call of duty. These members generously donate their time to help move the Orange County Chapter forward. For information about how you can help out, Click Here.

Each month, the Board of Directors will have the honor of recognizing one member to be awarded the “Shining Star Award”. 

To nominate a Shining Star, send us a nomination form (downloadable pdf form) or to submit your shining star nomination online, click here



2014-2015 Shining Star Winners

  • Shining Star of the Year - Asal Namini, Worldview Events
  • September 2014 - Lauren Welding,Anaheim Marriott Suites
  • October 2014 - Asal Namini, Worldview Events
  • November 2014 - Ken Schwenker, Conference Direct
  • January 2015 - Joe Palminteri, Independent Planner
  • February 2015 - Cynthia Stearn, Worldview Events
  • March 2015 - DeAna Miller, CMP, Experian
  • April 2015 - Alexis Amato, Hotel Maya – a DoubleTree Hotel
  • May 2015 - Michelle Sais, Prestige Accommodations

2013-2014 Shining Star Winners

  • Shining Star of the Year - Avery Lewis
  • August 2013 - Heidi Powers
  • September 2013 - Debb Childs, CMP
  • October 2013 - Avery Lewis

2012-2013 Shining Star Winners

  • 2012 / 2013 Honorarary Shining Star - Deanne Figueras, CMP
  • March 2013 - Steve Nguyen
  • February 2013 - David Jacob, CMP
  • December 2012 - Robb Thornsberry
  • November 2012 - Chip Szmurlo, CMP
  • October 2012 - David Yusuf
  • September 2012 - Rosemary Guziejka
  • July 2012 - Brian Gilman

2011-2012 Shining Star Winners

  • January 2012 - Julia Chase
  • November 2011 - Caprice Garcia
  • October 2011 - Ruth Wheeler
  • September 2011 - Justin Michael Palmer

2010-2011 Shining Star Winners

  • March 2011 - Melinda Jarrell
  • January 2011 - Laura Rangel 
  • November 2010 - Caprice Garcia 
  • November 2010 - Mary Russell 
  • October 2010 - Deborah Hahn 
  • October 2010 -  Viviana Salvia 
  • September 2010 - Neil Schwartz 

 M E E T I N G   P R O F E S S I O N A L S   I N T E R N A T I O N A L   O R A N G E   C O U N T Y   C H A P T E R
1405 Warner Avenue, Suite B, Tustin, CA 92780
714.258.1674 Office | 714.784.7806 Fax

 Copyright 2017 Meeting Professionals International Orange County Chapter. All Rights Reserved.
Admin Login   |   Website Architecture By: Armarion Solutions   |   Non Profit Websites by Admin eSolutions